If Heath Ledger Was A Baseball Player….

If any of you watch the news, I am sure you know that the 28 yr old actor, Heath Ledger was found dead in his New York apartment. No one knows the cause of death as of yet, but they have confirmed that he had pneumonia at the time of his death and that they discovered pills near his body and dollar bills with a white residue on them. Overdose is an enormous possibility. As sad as it is that an attractive 28 yr old men died, I can’t help but think that if he had been a successful baseball player such as Derek Jeter or Alex Rodriguez, or a young prospect with a bright and promising future, such as “King Felix”; I can’t help but think we would care a little more. I mean, sure it’s sad when someone so young passes. It’s sad when anyone dies, but come on we are talking about a guy that starred in A Knight’s Tale and 10 Things I Hate About You. Yes, I realize I sound slightly insensitive, but don’t get me wrong, I liked the guy, he was a good looking guy; and he played the part of ‘The Joker’ in “The Dark Knight” coming out this summer. That’s pretty cool, but my point is that unless we are adolescent girls, we aren’t going to really care that this kid is dead. The only reason half of us even know is because we watch the news daily. So, if Heath Ledger was a baseball player… maybe I’d have a lot of his cards and maybe I’d care a little more.

Footnote: I was going to just post this blog as is, but last minute I had a change of heart. I was a bit too harsh on the poor guy. While I admit that I am not completely heart broken about what happened, I am a bit sad. He wasn’t a complete failure as an actor and he actually seemed like a genuine person. So, my sympathies go out to his family and friends.
Don’t want to sound cliche, but R.I.P. Heath.

1 Comment

Filed under Real Life

One response to “If Heath Ledger Was A Baseball Player….

  1. He will become a legend when ‘The Dark Knight’ hits the screen. I never liked him much but I was sad. He seemed like a cool guy.

Leave a Reply

