Florida Marlins Vs. Colorado Rockies

Some one told me today that I go to way too many baseball games. And while I have been to at least 15 major league games this season, I completely disagree. I live for baseball. I don’t go through the week counting down the days for the weekend because I want to go clubbing, I count down the days because I can’t wait to get back into that stadium. I live for the smell of sweat and stale beer. The blinding sun thrills me. The crack of the bat and the screams of the fans is what I can’t wait for.

Yesterday, my love for Andrew Miller made me drive 70 miles North to Jupiter, FL just to catch a glimpse of him pitching. And while he wasn’t there, it was my dedication to the game that made me turn back around and drive nearly 100 miles South to Dolphin Stadium to watch the Marlins battle the Rockies. It is my admiration for the game that gives me the tolerance to sit in 100 degree weather for nearly 3 1/2 hours with out flinching. It is my love for the game that allows me to celebrate with my team when they are on top and die with them when they suffer an agonizing loss. I am smitten by this great game of baseball, and that is what allows me to admire an opposing team that has just defeated the men I was rooting for. It is what makes my heart flutter when Matt Holliday walks towards the gates because I know what he is capable of. Baseball is what gives me the patience to endure my everyday life, my everyday struggles, and my everyday feats. It is looking forward to that weekend game– the grunt the pitcher makes when he releases his pitch, the crack of the bat as it impacts the ball, and the roar of the crowd. This is what I live for.

So, despite the agonizing loss the Marlins were delt with yesterday, despite the fact that I disagree with nearly every decision Fredi Gonzalez made during the game, despite the fact that I feel the pain in my heart that Scott Olsen felt and probably still feels today… I wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else.

Below are some photos from yesterday’s game taken by Mario. Please enjoy. 🙂

This right here is what makes me love Scott Olsen

This right here is what makes me love Scott Olsen

Matt Holliday hitting a HR

Matt Holliday showing us how he kills Marlins

The beloved Tulo giving us a lesson in swinging

The beloved Tulo giving us a lesson in swinging

Hermida had a bad outing, but I still love him

Hermida had a bad outing, but I still love him

Alfredo Amezaga- by far my favorite Marlin

Alfredo Amezaga- by far my favorite Marlin

Jorge Cantu is one amazing Mexican

Jorge Cantu is one amazing Mexican

Holding up my Andrew Miller sign

Post game: Holding up my Andrew Miller sign

Clint Barmes was surprised that all I wanted was a photo, but I think he appreciated that because he patted me on the back as he left

Clint Barmes was surprised that all I wanted was a photo, but I think he appreciated that because he patted me on the back as he left

Brad Hawpe is a great guy. Not only did he pose with me, but he joked with me as well

Brad Hawpe is a great guy. Not only did he pose with me, but he joked with me as well

Matt Holliday- Popularly known as the Marlin Killer- but he is a swell guy

Matt Holliday- Widely known as the Marlin Killer- but he is a swell guy

Marlins security gaurd and our very good friend, Mitch

Marlins security guard and our very good friend, Mitch

Leave a comment

Filed under baseball, Real Life, Sports

Leave a Reply

