Top 5 Dumb Things Baseball Fans Go Nutty Over

There are a few things at every baseball game that the crowd goes absolutely nuts for, below I have compiled a list of 5 things that baseball fans go absolutely nutty over.

5. The wave.

The wave is said to have been created at a hockey game in Canada in the year 1980, but was more widely introduced at a Major League baseball game in Oakland in the year 1981. Ever since then, I have had to deal with these nutty saps get up and throw their hands in the air for 3.5 seconds. If you’ll excuse me, I am going to opt to sit my ass down while holding my $7.00 beer and let the rich guys on the field do all the crazy movements.

4. Being on the big screen.

It’s the kiss cam, the ‘show me your muscles’ cam; it’s my worst enemy. Watching as the entire stadium goes berserk for their 15 seconds of fame within the stadium walls really grinds my gears. Some one let me know when they come up with a ‘punch the person sitting next to you in the face’ cam.

3. Any sort of give away.

Okay. I have to admit that I even get excited for this one. C’mon guys, why go out and spend $50.00 on a hat to show team spirit when the Pineapple Children’s hospital has sponsored one at this weekend’s giveaway!

2. The t-shirt launch.

The ones that usually become the most frenzied over the t-shirt launch are the saps that are sitting in the upper deck. Keep in mind, people, the cannon was not designed to launch bombs in Iraq, and if you are unfortunate enough to have the cheerleaders tossing the shirts, I wouldn’t hold my breath for one.

1. Getting a foul ball from the bat boy.

I can understand diving over numerous fans to catch an actual foul ball, but yelling at a 9 yr old bat boy and begging him for a ball he snagged up off the field just doesn’t make sense to me. Especially when the person that does actually get the ball from the bat boy turns around to the crowd behind him and waves the ball in the air with victory. Dude, Albert Pujols didn’t toss the ball to you… a nameless 9 yr old did.

5 Comments

Filed under baseball, Real Life, Sports

5 responses to “Top 5 Dumb Things Baseball Fans Go Nutty Over

  1. Oh, I absolutely hate the wave and staunchly refuse to participate. And I agree with you wholeheartedly about the whole foul ball thing as well.

  2. jv

    This post is one of the funniest I’ve read in a long time. I have seen most of this stuff at Minor League games and I can only imagine what it’s like at Major League games…

    My advice, bring $84. At $7 a pop, that’ll buy you a half case of beer and you’ll be drunk enough to not give a damn…

    Or to punch somebody in the face. Even if you’re not on the big screen…hahaha….

  3. MetsManiacinNH

    Yup. I’m another anti-waver. You should see the looks from the sheeple around me when I don’t do the wave. You would’ve thought that I went Kevin Mitchell on a basket of kittens. 🙂

  4. One wave, once in the blue moon, maybe. But at the ballparks where we’ve seen The Wave, the crowd does it over and over. Gaah.

  5. I’m totally with you, Tatiana! I hate the wave and the t-shirt launches. I actually caught a t-shirt once and it was filled with ads. I threw it right back!

Leave a Reply

